Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney in Irving
Representing Those Accused of Possession of Stolen Property
In the state of Texas, possessing property that you know to be stolen is
considered punishable by law similar to as if you had stolen the property
yourself. This can include purchasing it when you know the person giving
it to you acquired it through theft, or receiving it as a gift under the
When you are facing charges of a theft crime in Texas, it is important
to obtain legal representation as soon as possible. Your time will be
limited before your trial, and it is important to retain a skilled Irving
criminal defense lawyer who may be able to help you with your charges.
J. Roland Jeter, P.C. has served Irving residents since 1978, providing reputable legal advice
and representation for those facing criminal charges, including those facing
Call J. Roland Jeter, P.C. today by dialing (972) 330-4050 and
have your case reviewed for free by our legal team.
Theft Crime Classifications and Penalties
Theft crimes in Texas are classified based on the monetary value of the
items that are “unlawfully appropriated.” If multiple items
are stolen, their combined value will be used to determine the severity
of your charges and the penalties you may be facing.
According to H.B. 1396, possession of stolen property is classified as
Under $100: A Class C misdemeanor crime, punishable by a $500 fine
Between $100-$750: A Class B misdemeanor crime, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and
a $2,000 fine
Between $750-$2,500: A Class A misdemeanor crime, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine
Between $2,500-$30,000: A state jail felony, punishable by up to 2 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
Between $30,000 – $150,000: A third-degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
Between $150,000 - $300,000: A second-degree felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
Over $300,000: A first-degree felony, punishable by up to life in prison and a $10,000 fine.
The exact nature of your charges may change based on the nature of what
was stolen as well. For example, if you are convicted of a stealing a
firearm, your charge will automatically be considered a state jail felony
even if its value was below the $2,500 value threshold. A knowledgeable
attorney will be able to better advise you as to your exact circumstances
based on your unique situation.
Don’t leave your freedom and your reputation to chance;
contact J. Roland Jeter, P.C. and get the criminal defense help you need for your case.