The Sobering Consequences of a DWI Conviction


Understanding Texas DWI Penalties

Every day, almost 30 people in the US lose their lives in drunk driving crashes, totaling one person every 50 minutes, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. As such, Texas prosecutors can be relentless in their efforts to convict defendants accused of DWI. With this in mind, if you were arrested for driving while intoxicated in Texas, you may experience harsh repercussions before you even go to trial. This is because the State wastes no time in ensuring DWI suspects are off the roads and, eventually, behind bars.

Unfortunately, this implies that defendants could be treated as guilty rather than innocent until proven guilty, resulting in significant losses for the accused. If you are charged with DWI, you will be required to undergo a civil administrative process called the Administrative License Revocation Program, where the TX Department of Public Safety will suspend and/or disqualify your driver’s license. You must request in writing to the Texas Department of Public Safety a request to initiate this Administrative Process within 15 days of your arrest. If your request is not timely made, then your right to an Administrative hearing is waived. Keep in mind that without your driving privileges, you may have trouble getting to work, school, appointments, errands, and more, hindering your daily life in unimaginable ways.

A DWI conviction may impose jail time, expensive fines, driver’s license suspensions, and mandatory participation in education programs at the judge’s discretion. Thus, it is critical to understand the legal consequences of a DWI conviction in further detail.

Depending on the nature of your offense, the presence of aggravating or mitigating factors, and your criminal history, the following DWI penalties may apply:

First offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three mandatory days
  • 90-day license suspension
    • 1 year for a previous suspension or failing or refusing to take a blood or breath test

Second offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail upon conviction
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years

Third offense

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years

The fines above do not account for state fines of $3,000, $4,500, or $6,000, which are assessed upon sentencing.

Drunk driving with a child passenger

  • If the offense involves children under 15, you will be charged with child endangerment, punishable by:
    • Up to $10,000 fines
    • Up to two years in jail
    • Loss of driver’s license for another 180 days

Charged with DWI? Protect Your Rights.

Roland Jeter has served clients across Irving, Texas since 1978. A top-rated attorney, Mr. Jeter provides world-class defense for every client he represents, resulting in the continuous expansion of his proven track record for successful outcomes. Thus, if you are accused of DWI in Irving, waste no time in contacting J. Roland Jeter P.C. online or by calling (972) 330-4050.

Share To: