Possessing Stolen Property

Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney in Irving

Representing Those Accused of Possession of Stolen Property

In the state of Texas, possessing property that you know to be stolen is considered punishable by law similar to as if you had stolen the property yourself. This can include purchasing it when you know the person giving it to you acquired it through theft, or receiving it as a gift under the same circumstances.

When you are facing charges of a theft crime in Texas, it is important to obtain legal representation as soon as possible. Your time will be limited before your trial, and it is important to retain a skilled Irving criminal defense lawyer who may be able to help you with your charges. J. Roland Jeter, P.C. has served Irving residents since 1978, providing reputable legal advice and representation for those facing criminal charges, including those facing theft crimes.

Call J. Roland Jeter, P.C. today by dialing (972) 330-4050 and have your case reviewed by our legal team.

Theft Crime Classifications and Penalties

Theft crimes in Texas are classified based on the monetary value of the items that are “unlawfully appropriated.” If multiple items are stolen, their combined value will be used to determine the severity of your charges and the penalties you may be facing.

According to H.B. 1396, possession of stolen property is classified as the following:

  • Under $100: A Class C misdemeanor crime, punishable by a $500 fine
  • Between $100-$750: A Class B misdemeanor crime, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $2,000 fine
  • Between $750-$2,500: A Class A misdemeanor crime, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine
  • Between $2,500-$30,000: A state jail felony, punishable by up to 2 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
  • Between $30,000 – $150,000: A third-degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
  • Between $150,000 - $300,000: A second-degree felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
  • Over $300,000: A first-degree felony, punishable by up to life in prison and a $10,000 fine.

The exact nature of your charges may change based on the nature of what was stolen as well. For example, if you are convicted of a stealing a firearm, your charge will automatically be considered a state jail felony even if its value was below the $2,500 value threshold. A knowledgeable attorney will be able to better advise you as to your exact circumstances based on your unique situation.

Don’t leave your freedom and your reputation to chance; contact J. Roland Jeter, P.C. and get the criminal defense help you need for your case.

Request a Consultation

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy